About Us

Hermosa Sanitation District

Hermosa Sanitation District was formed in 1982 by a vote of the people living within the service area. Hermosa Sanitation provides central sewer service to approximately 1,500 customers in the Animas Valley.

Treatment Plant Information

Our treatment plant is located off County Road 252. Our billing office is located at the treatment plant. Office hours are by appointment only. Our office manager can be reached through our contact form or by calling (970) 259-3909.


Our plant operations manager is Steve Janes and he can be reached for emergencies at (970) 759-0185.

Sewer Taps

Sewer Taps are currently available. The cost of a residential tap is $10,200. To arrange for purchasing a tap, call (970) 259-3909.

Board Meetings

All monthly meetings are open to the public. The Board meets on the second Thursday of each month, 6:45 a.m., at the Treatment Plant, 874 County Road 252.

Board of Directors

Hermosa Sanitation District is governed by a 5 member Board of Directors. Elections are held every 2 years.

  • Board President: Michael McCardell
    41 Stevens Creek Ln, Durango, CO 81301
    (970) 749-0400
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Vice President: David Dillon
    899 County Road 252, Durango, CO 81301
    (970) 749-2062
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Secretary/Treasurer: James Barrett
    60 Hermosa Dr, Durango, CO 81301
    (970) 247-5839
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Director: Renn Ferrell
    4419 County Road 203, Durango, CO 81301
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Director: Justin Kautter
    208 Blue Sky Dr., Durango, CO 81301
    Term Expires: 2025